Hindi Day-14-September-2020-hindi diwas

Hindi Diwas
Official name: Hindi Diwas
Observed by: Government of India
Significance: Adoption of Hindi as an official language of India
Observances:Hindi literature
Date: 14 September
Next time :14 September 2021
Frequency: Annual

Hindi Diwas is celebrated on the 14th of September, to commemorate the adoption of the Hindi language, written in Devanagari script, as one of the two official languages of the Republic of India by Constituent Assembly of India. To this end, several people rallied and lobbied pan-India in favour of Hindi, such as Beohar Rajendra Simha along with Hazari Prasad Dwivedi, Kaka Kalelkar, Maithili Sharan Gupt and Seth Govind Das. As such, on the 50th birthday of Beohar Rajendra Simha on the 14th of September 1949, the efforts came to fruition following the adoption of Hindi as an official language.[2][3] This decision was ratified by the Constitution of India that came into effect on the 26th of January 1950. Under Article 343 of the Indian Constitution, Hindi written in Devanagari script was adopted as the official language. In all, there are 22 Scheduled languages of India, of which, two are officially used at Union level: Hindi and English. Modern Hindi today is spoken by more than 250 million people as a first language.

Read Also: